Outstanding Personal Contribution Award


AWards 2.2.jpg
The Welding Institute

Outstanding Personal Contribution Award

 (In memory of Harry Brooker)

The award is sponsored by Johnson Matthey plc, in memory of Harry Brooker who was instrumental in introducing low temperature silver brazing alloys into British industry in 1935. He became a Chief Executive and Managing Director of Johnson Matthey and promoted research with The Welding Institute during and after the Second World War on resistance welding of aluminium.

This award is made in recognition of the recipient's personal contribution to the science, technology and industrial exploitation of materials joining.

It recognises high industrial research or educational responsibility of a character which has beneficially influenced the advancement of materials joining technology.

To apply or make a nomination for the award, please click here. 

2018 Brooker Award Winner Isabel Hadley

2018 Winner

This years winner is TWI industrial research  Fellow  Dr Isabel Hadley. Isabel joined TWI in 1992, after a first degree from Cambridge, PhD from Sheffield, and work in the nuclear power, offshore engineering and steel industries. Isabel managed TWI's Fracture Integrity section from 1997 to 2013.

As Technology Fellow Isabel’s work has centred on the development and application of analytical flaw assessment techniques (BS 7910, R6, FITNET etc). and includes chairing the committee that develops and maintains standard BS7910. Isabel is also a member of the R6 (UK nuclear assessment procedure) panel and the co-author of the European FITNET fitness-for-service procedure.

In 2016 Isabel took up an additional post as Visiting Professor at the University of Bristol under the Royal Academy of Engineering scheme.

Isabel’s decades of commitment to the assessment of flaws in metallic structures has seen the technology move from a niche area to one that is an established and routine part of weld procedure in many industries. 

Dr Hadley was nominated by her TWI colleague, Philippa Moore, who will herself be honoured with a Special Recognition Award